Strong Heart Ranch

Hogs, Honey, & Horses..and a couple Longears

Gathering of Goat People

2 Comments

Not to be confused with people who look like goats, but “goat people”. People who live and breathe dairy goats. This week we converged on Grand Rapids, Michigan for the 2011 American Dairy Goat Association Convention. It’s a long jaunt for this Oregonian but well worth it.

I get the privilege of being the coordinator of the cheese judging competition. I spend a good portion of my time preparing cheese for judging. During the judging I get the opportunity to taste all of the cheeses. This year’s Best in Show was Sunset Bay from River’s Edge Chevre http://threeringfarm.com/and Reserve Best in Show Jalapeno & Garlic Marinated Chevre from Fiore di Capra http://www.goatmilkandcheese.com/.

Jalapeno & Garlic Marinated Chevre

Sunset Bay-River's Edge Chevre

Body Product Baskets

I also was able to attend a fun class on making your own body products. Mostly face masks, body scrubs, and foot soaks. Made with products most of us have in our kitchen along with goat milk and yogurt.

The best part of the ADGA Convention is all the lifetime friendships you make!

Author: npretti

Mom, farmer, goat milker, cowboy poetry lover, photographer, cook, lover of all things cowboy and wild west. Living on the Oregon countryside.

2 thoughts on “Gathering of Goat People

  1. Good afternoon…

    I am an artist, currently working in acrylics and painting goats. I ran across your website with a great goat photo of a herd of goats, one eating from a tree…and I was wondering if you might grant permission to use this photo as a reference for a painting? I do not paint photo realism, but more with a loose stroke and soft colors. I would love the opportunity to paint this image, but only with permission. Goats all have so much expression… And this one is especially cute. Please let me know if this is possible. When its done, I will gladly send you a note card of how it turns out. I was at the goat convention last October in Grand Rapids… maybe i met you there?? My painting and ceramic tile was in the goat art sale.

    Kindest regards and thank you for your consideration. If you would like to see some of my goat images, my website is: Redhendesignart.com

    Leah Kucharek
    Red Hen Design
    redhendesignart.com
    H. 517.548.9623
    C. 810.599.0475

    The happiest people I know own horses, dogs, cats and at least one deranged goat…

    • Hi Leah,

      You are welcome to use the picture and I’d love to see it when your finished.

      I believe we did meet at the convention, if I remember correctly you had the tins with goat tops.

      Thank you for asking.

      Nicci

Leave a Reply

